• Are you unsure of how to move forward?


  • Are you finding it hard to talk about your feelings?


  • Are you struggling to deal with your grief and think others are coping better than you?

Everyone grieves in their own way

Grief is associated with feelings of sadness, regret, guilt and anger, as well as many others, and it can be an extremely confusing time in one’s life. While some people quickly recover from grief and resume their normal routines within weeks or months, others continue to grieve for years and struggle to find relief. Some people grieve openly, while others prefer to keep their emotions hidden.

Whichever scenario applies to you, there is no right or wrong way to feel and deal with your loss.

One of the greatest challenges associated with grieving the loss of a loved one, whether it is through death or the ending of a relationship, is adjusting to the new reality of living in their absence. This usually involves developing a new routine, envisioning a new future, or re-discovering your sense of self.

Due to its personal nature, grief is often an unspoken and uncomfortable topic to discuss among family and friends. For this reason, counselling is highly advantageous because it means that you don’t have to go on the journey alone.


In 1969, Elisabeth Kubler-Ross identified five linear stages of grief that most people are now familiar with:

A temporary defense mechanism, denial is often the earliest stage of grief and involves feelings that “this can’t possibly be happening to me.”

This stage might involve seeking a source to blame or becoming angry with the world.

During this stage, people might try to find ways to buy themselves more time, such as bargaining with God to attempt to become a better person in exchange for changing circumstances.

As people begin to accept the loss, an overwhelming sense of depression, sadness, or hopelessness may kick in.

At this stage, the loss is accepted and some peace is reached.


Psychologist J. W. Worden created a stage-based model for coping with the death of a loved one. He called his model the Four Tasks of Mourning:

  1. To accept the reality of the loss
  2. To work through the pain of grief
  3. To adjust to life without the deceased
  4. To maintain a connection to the deceased while moving on with life
The theory of maintaining a connection through ‘continuing bonds’ (Klass, Silverman and Nickelman, 1996) is one that I am passionate about. By ‘continuing bonds’, we move away from the concept of ‘letting go’ and ‘moving on’.
Instead, we move towards a future without having to let go of everything that has occurred in the past and having to completely ‘let go’ of the person who died. The theory allows us to continue a relationship with them, despite their death, as our emotional bonds with loved ones stretch beyond the land of the living.


Open up about your thoughts and emotions without judgement.

Open up about your thoughts and emotions without judgement.

Open up about your thoughts and emotions without judgement.

“My clients – people are diverse,
but one thing they all have in common is wanting to better a version of themselves!”

Would you like to find out more about Grief Counselling?

Please contact me on 0417 667 329 or organise a consultation by sending me a message via the form below.